"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument recommends investment in Consolidated industries, one of whose major business operations is retail sale of home heating oil, based on the prediction of local weather forecasters. There are many questions which needs to be answered in order to evaluate the argument. Few of the questions are discussed below.

Firstly, Is the prediction accurate and who made the local weather forecast prediction? Is the prediction made by reputed organization? If the prediction is inaccurate, then it undermines the validity of the recommendation. Local weather forecasters made their prediction based on the fact that the region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures. They predicted that this weather pattern will continue for several years. They showed no evidence for the prediction. They did not tell whether United States is continually experiencing below-average temperatures in the previous years. So, their prediction does not provide support for the recommendation.

Homes in northeastern United states have traditionally used oil for heating. Secondly, Is there any evidence that most of the people in that region are still using oil as major fuel for heating? If only few people in that region use oil for heating, then it will be waste of money if people invest in Consolidated industries. If there is proper evidence that mostly everyone in that region use oil, then it can provide some support for the recommendation.

Thirdly, Will there be profits if people invest in Consolidated industries although their major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil? For instance, if only few people buy home heating oil from Consolidated industries, then there will be no profits if investment is made in Consolidated industries. If majority of the population use home heating oil for heating and they buy the oil from Consolidated industries, then it provides support for the recommendation.

There are many questions which needs to be answered in order to evaluate the recommendation. If the above few questions are answered, it helps in evaluating the argument. The answers to these questions helps in deciding whether to follow recommendation or not.