To answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, ‘Gourmet Select.’ Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months, Apex Corporation will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make ‘Gourmet Select’ one of the top sellers in the coffee market.

The argument is based on few assumptions regarding Apex Corporation decision to make 'Gourmet Select' one of the top sellers in the coffee market. Taken as a whole, if the assumptions do not hold true, then the argument totally falls apart.

The first assumption Apex Corporation makes is word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales when it introduces the coffee into the major supermarkets. This assumption is not based on sound logical reasoning. It maybe the case where people buy the coffee for the first time but they do not like the coffee. People may not prefer Gourmet Select's artisanal coffee. Word-of-mouth advertising strategy does not guarantee sales sustainment. So, this assumption cannot be considered as one of the factors which play a role in making 'Gourmet Select' one of the top sellers in the market.

The second assumption it makes is running an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants will help in making 'Gourmet Select' one of the top sellers in the market. This assumption does not hold true in all cases. For example, there may be cases where the people who demand artisanal coffee do not watch or believe in the advertisements. The assumption is weak as it does not consider the people who do not watch television and radio. The assumption does not take into account of the case where people who do not buy coffee based on the advertisements they watch in television or radio. It is because television and radio show various advertisements for the artisanal coffee. This assumption does not take into account the feedback of the people who buy the coffee first time.

The strategy considered by Apex Corporation in making 'Gourmet Select' one of the top sellers in the market is not strong. It does not provide any evidence for ensuring the Gourmet Select's success. If the strategy does not play a role as expected by Apex Corporation, then the arguments falls apart.