The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation. “To answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, ‘Gourmet Select.’ Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corporation will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make ‘Gourmet Select’ one of the top sellers in the coffee market.” Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Apex corporation’s new business plan for realeasing their new line of coffee as a response to the increased demand for artisanal coffee, includes a myriad of unwarraned assumptions upon which the success of the bussiness plan hangs. Thus, in case these assumptions are proven to be incorrect, the whole argument for this plan’s contribution to them becoming one of the top coffee sellers falls apart.

First and foremost, it is assumed that not only major supermarkets will agree to put “Gourmet Select”, a brand new line of product for which no advertisment has been done, on their shelves, but also word-of-mouth advertising will be enough to sustain sales. However, most major supermarkets care too much for their reputation and profit to introduce an unknown brand of coffee to their customers. Even if some decide to do so, they might remove the products from their supermarkets before the product’s quality and people’s suggestions to one another could sustain the sales. If such a thing happens, “Gourmet Select” will be out of the advertisement game before it even starts.

Furthermore, for the company to be able to run an advertisement campaign, it is necessary that the previous stage of the plan goes as expected, otherwise the company might not have enough funds to run such an expensive campaign aimed at television and radio. Considering the riskiness of the previous stage’s strategy, it is anything but unlikely for the company to not have enough funds to advertise the product through pervasive media.

Moreover, It is assumed that chain restaurants will accept to use “Gourmet Select”. However, using a popular brand, for which advertisement through pervasive media has been done, is not what increases the profit of chain restaurants, most of which are already extremely popular. What the chain restaurants look for is to use inexpensive and affordable products to maximize their profit. Thus, it’s quite unlikely for the chain restaurants to agree to use “Apex Corporation”’s line of coffee.

In conclusion, the success of the business plan presented by “Apex Corporation” lays upon a number of unstated assumptions, which are likely to not hold, making the plan prone to failure.