The business district of downtown Laughton is thriving during the weekdays but is virtually uninhabited during the weekends. As a result, many of the shops and restaurants close during this time, though the proprietors must still pay rent. Since many such businesses have struggled over the last year, the mayor of Laughton has proposed that a nearby, abandoned twenty-acre plot of land that houses a few dilapidated warehouses be converted into a park. Once completed, the park will serve as a weekend attraction for many families living in Laughton. As a result, many will frequent the restaurants and shops, thereby reinvigorating these struggling businesses. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The success of the proposed plan of converting warehouses to a park in the business district of Laughton to help the struggling shops and restaurants depends on a number of unwarranted assumptions. If these unstated assumptions are proven to be incorrect, the plan will not succeed.

First and foremost, it is assumed that the reason why businesses such as shops and restaurants of the business district have suffered over the last year, is that the district isn’t crowded on the weedends, and that if the latter issue is mitigated, the shops and restaurants won’t struggle anymore. However, it might be the case that the locals don’t shop or go to restaurants in that district on weekdays as well, or maybe the rents are so high, that even if the shops had enough customer on weekends, they would still be struggling.

Moreover, it is assumed that a park would attract families of Laughton to the business district on weekends. The reason why the district is uninhabited on weekends might not be the lack of entertainment in the area. For instance, there might not be enough housing areas in the district and most people prefer to go to parks near where they live on the weekends.

Furthermore, it is assumed that if people go to the new park in this district on weekends, they will also eat out and shop. Exorbitant prices of shops and restaurants in the business district might drive away customers, and they might prefer to have a picnic at the park instead of eating out or going shopping. Therefore, more people being in the district on weekends won’t necessarily affect the profit made by the shops and restaurants.

All in all, the plan to ameliorate the struggle of shops and restaurant of the business district depends on numerous assumptions. In case any of these unwarranted assumptions doesn’t hold, not only will the shops continue to struggle, the city will also have spent a great amount of money and resources on building a park in vain.