The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The plan aimed at attracting more viewers for the late-night news program and avoiding the loss of advertising revenue is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions. The plan is not likely to succeed since the success depends on the unstated assumptions and is not based on logical reasoning. Thus, if the assumptions are proven not to hold true, the plan will not lead to the expected results.

First and foremost, the manager fails to present detailed information about the complaints received from the users. Were the complaints about the quality of the weather and local news or the quantity? Did the viewers want to see more news about the weather and local issues or more? Without having any information about the content of the complaints, this matter cannot be used as an argument in favor of this plan.

Similarly, there is no information presented as to why the businesses have canceled their advertising contracts. There is no logical link between an increased time devoted to international news and businesses canceling their contracts. A possible reason for the cancellations could be that the number of viewers of the late-night program has decreased, or that the groups of people watching news at that time of day are not interested in what the businesses are promoting. Therfore, a survey should be done in order to identify the reason why these businesses have chosen to cancel their contracts.

Finally, it is assumed that reverting to the previous time table would increase the number of viewers and avoid further cancelations of advertising contracts. This is merely an assumption and the manager fails to provide the reason why the schedule was changed in the first place. The reason may be that viewers wanted more international news. It might even be the case that very few viewers want to watch news late at night, and regardless of how the program is organized, the viewers remain low. Without surveying the viewers and the businesses about their preferances, there is no way to deduce that the plan would work as expected.

All in all, the manager fails to provide crucial information to support his claim that the plan will mitigate the situation. The success of the plan depends on numerous unstated assumptions. Therefore, further research should be carried out to identify whether these assumptions hold true before proceeding with the plan.