The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Preparing young people for leadership and making sure they get adequet training is extremely crucial for a society. Therefore, the best way to identify and improve the skills that make a good leader in the youth should be investigated. Throughout history, the best leaders have been the ones who had not only superior intellectual capabilities, but also better interpersonal skills. Best leaders know how to inspire people and bring them together. Cooperative leaders who use resources that they are provided with tend to be more successful than the competitive ones. Thus, training young people to be more cooperative could contribute to making them better leaders.

There are a variety of skills and characterisitics that make a person suitable for a leadership position in any field, for instance government, industry and education system. A competent leader knows how to bring people together and enable them to use their unique abilities to contribute to the team. An example of this concept in a relatively small domain could be team leaders of a school project. Often, the most successful teams are the ones that have more cooperative leaders who effectively communicate with all members and facilitates their collaboration. Therefore, it is essentail for the future leaders to be adept cooperators.

On the other hand, there are competitive leaders who want to prove themselves to their team or constantly strive to make their team better than all the other ones. It is irrefutable that a degree of competitiveness could lead to better results, as more competitive people have greater motivation to grow and supersede others. In a team setting, however, too much competitiveness from the side of the leader could be rather detrimental for the team. Leaders whose sole purpose is to make their team or nation the best one, could easily forget the needs, welfare and hapiness of the people, making the rivalry counter-productive. Young future leaders should be made aware of this fact.

To conclude, in order to guarantee having competent future leaders, every society should pay extra attention to how the leaders are being prepared. Great interpersonal skills including cooperativeness should be taught to the youth rather than focusing on making them more competitive. As the best leaders are the ones who motivate the people and facilitate their collaboration instead of trying to take care of everything single-handedly.