In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In some fields, all have almost equal chance at succeeding regardless of the level of expertise. In most domains, however, having more experience is tantamount to having more chance at succeeding, and most fields of inquiry are not an exception.

Many believe in beginner’s luck and that those who are new to a field are more likely to succeed. Although it could be said that newcomers have a fresh overview of the topic and are unprejudiced, this doesn’t compensate for their lack of exprience and the benefits that come from it. Experts have learned much about the field through trial and error and the suggestions and guidance they have gotten. As a matter of fact, the more knowledge one has about the domain, the more likely he/she will be to make a contribution.

Moreover, most beginners are dependent on experts at the begining. For instance, most amatuers in any field of research need a mentor to guide them through the early stages and familiarize them with the basics to give them a boost into the new field. PhD students and their supervisors are a good example of this matter. Most PhD students are fairly new to the field and depend on the guidance of their much experienced supervisors for making a contribution. Having good and experienced mentors that share their insights could make it possible for the student to make more notable contributions to the field.

On the other hand, the fresh ideas of a newcomer are often overshadowed by his/her naivety. Novel ideas of a beginner combined with the expertise of a veteran of the field, are the best combination for making contributions in any field of inquiry. Therefore, teams that consist of a balanced number of highly motivated beginners with new takes on the matter and knowledgable experts are most likely to make substantial contributions.

To conclude, in fields of inquiry, beginners have valuable qualities such as having a fresh prespective. Although the nessesity of these qualities is irrefutable, it isn’t enough for competing with experienced veterans of the field.