Downtown Greensborough is a major financial center in which many citizens either drive or rely on public transportation to get to work. This setup has led up to a spate in the number of pedestrians who have been struck and killed by vehicles. In an effort to curb the number of pedestrian-related fatalities, Greensborough has installed speed reduction signs at the six city intersections at which the highest numbers of fatalities have occurred in the last year. The Greensborough city government predicts that the number of traffic fatalities will significantly decrease once the speed reduction signs have been installed.

The government’s plan to install speed reduction signs in order to decrease fatal traffic accidents leading to death of pedestrians is rife with logical fallacies. Moreover, the success of the plan depends on a number of unwarranted assumptions. If any of these assumptions doesn’t hold true, the plan will have no effect on the number of fatalities.

First and foremost, the fact that people drive or depend on public transport to get to work, has been identified as the cause of the increase in the number of pedestrains hit and killed by vehicles. Howover, this could only be true if most of these accidents take place around the time when most people commute to and from work. Without having any information about the time when most accidents occur, this reasoning is fallacious.

Furthermore, it is assumed that the reason behind the spate in the number of pedestrain fatalities is the high speed of the vehicles. The two matters could completely be unrelated. A possible reason for the increased fatalities could be the carelessness of the pedestrain or lack of adequate cross-walks. Furthermore, it could be that an increase in the number of vehicles or pedestrians, for instance an increase in the population, lead to the spate in the number of such accidents, and that niether the drivers nor the pedestrians are to blame. In order to increase the chance success, the government should investigate the cause of the accidents, by using traffic cameras for instance, instead of assuming high speed to be the sole cause.

Even if high speed was the cause of the increase in fatal traffic accidents, there is no guarantee that installing signs would help mitigate the situation. In fact this could be one of the least effective ways to combat this problem. A number of more drastic measures could be taken, such as educating the public about the dangers of driving unsafely, installing traffic cameras at the intersections, increasing traffic fines, and even revoking careless drivers’ licenses.

All in all, the government’s plan to decrease the number of pedestrian fatalities due to being struck by vehicles is likely to fail, since its success severely depends on unstated assumptions. In order to address this problem better, the government should gather more information about the cause of the accidents and impose strict laws to preclude the cause.