Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is irrefutable that being confident in one’s beliefs and not doubting oneself upon minor criticism is essential for succeeding. However, being utterly tenacious and disregarding all criticisms could be more detrimental than beneficial. As far as I’m concerned, being able to analyze others’ opinions, extracting the most useful and logical of them and challenging ones’ beliefs according to them if the best way to ensure leaving a lasting legacy.

Humans are far from being omniscient and we all have certain biases which shape our beliefs and affect our doings. Being obstinate and closed to other people’s opinions might lead to continuing to believe in a false statement or concept which could potentially give rise to unfair or illogical actions. Therefore, each person should be in constant endevour to challenge his/her beliefs periodically, identify the ones that are based on prejudice, and try to reshape those beliefs. It is only by this means that one can increase his/her chance of doing what’s right.

However, being too malleable could also lead to confusion and consequently inaction. The ones who lack the ability to analyze criticism and react to the most logical ones, often tend to change their beliefs too easily. This could lead to confusion and inaction that is caused by constantly changing ideas which makes it hard to move in a certain direction. The situation could be described by the following metaphor. If a leaf which is so light that could be moved by any breeze is left in a windy room in which air blows from various doors and windows, it would start oscillating or moving in random directions at best.

Throughout the years, the most succesful people have been the ones who have implemented acceptable feedback in their actions. Leaders who hold public refrandums are an example of this matter. People’s ideas are used to balance the beliefs of the leader about how the country should be ruled, and these governments often tend to be more praised as the time goes by. Criticism, if handeled with wisdom, could make substantial contribution to success.

To conclude, changing ones opinion with every external criticism is as disadvantageous as being utterly tenacious. The most succesful people are the ones who notice the good advices adeptly and choose to reform their beliefs correspondingly.