The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The plan proposed by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, aimed at increasing the number of people who attend their movies, is based on numerous unwarranted assumptions rather than logical reasoning. Since the success of the plan depends on these unstated assumptions, more information needs to be collected, analyzed and presented before executing the proposed plan, or the plan might utterly fail.

First and foremost, the director fails to mention by how many percentages the number of people who attended the movie dropped, or the positive reviews increased. There are no statistics of box-office sales presented. It might be the case that both the increase and the decrease are negligible and not worth allocating extra budget to mitigate the situation. Moreover, did the last year's sales drop compared to two years ago or the prior five year interval? This information is not stated. Thus, it might be the case that two years ago sales were exeptionally high and last year's sales are merely being compared to that year which completely undermines this argument.

Moreover, it is assumed that the reviews didn't reach enough of the potential viewers, and this was why the number of the people who attended the company's movies decreased. Although this might the case, it is not likely to be so. Nowadays, all reviews are published online and the first thing most people do before going to a movie is to check the reviews online. Therefore, it is not likely that not enough prospective viewers saw the positive reviews. Moreover, an increase in the percentage of positive reviews combined with a decrease in the total number of reviews could cause the prospective viewers to become more skeptical about the authenticity of the content of the reviews.

The company assumes that lack of awareness of the positive reviews and the good quality of the movies is the reason why less people are attending their movies. However, many other possible explanations are not being considered. For instance, fewer people might have attended any movies during last year due to a pandemic and that the percentage of people who attend this company's movies remained the same or even increased..

To conclude, the plan of the advertising director to increase the number of people who attend the company's movies is based on many assumptions and not enough concrete information. More information needs to be collected and presented before extra budget is allocated to advertising.