The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people they lead. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s world, the importance of having good leadership skills is unknown to only a few. Leaders are selected in order to coordinate activities in a company, lead a nation to success or make sure each team member is doing their part in a group project, and in all these settings, the leaders’ primary role is to serve the ones they are leading. Although some are of the opinion that it’s better for the inferior people not to interfere with a leader’s decisions, as far as I’m concerened, assuming a ruler decides whether to act on a suggestion or not, feedback should be encouraged from the people, as some suggestions might prove to be useful.

We are all human, and being human means being imperfect. The burden of having to make crucial decisions comes with every leadership position. Similar to a president’s decisions which are crucial for the country’s economical, industrial and academic success, the decisions of the head of a team project are crucial for the outcome of the project. Yet taking into account that these leaders are far from being omniscient, they are very much prone to occasional mistakes regardless of how good of a leader they are. Thus, taking into account feedback and suggestions could mitigate this matter, and make them realize their mistakes and compensate for them.

It is true that not all people are adept leaders, and not all people’s opinions are in favor of the team, the nation or the company, however as far as there’s a competent person, in this case the leader, considering the suggestions and deciding whether to act towards the will of the advisor, it is safe to say that encouraging feedback is more fruitful than discouraging it and leading a dictatorship. Humans often tend to oversee their own mistakes or undermine their good deeds, and feedback from others, which could be positive or negative, could cast light on their wrong doings or show them others’ appreciation for what they’ve done right. Therefore, I believe encouraging feedback to be cruicial for being a good leader who humbly serves the people.

To conclude, feedback and critism play an integral role in improving a leaders’ decisions when it comes to doing what’s best for the people, and considering the fact that the leaders themselves are the last filter through which these suggestions pass before becoming influential on the their decisions, it is safe to say that encouraging feedback from the people is one of the things that makes good leaders, enabling them to serve the people to the best of their abilities.