A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

It is a well-known fact that not all children are alike when it comes to mental growth. Some kids' brains develop earlier than others. Moreover, areas of brains develop differently in children, as some grow up to be more adept scientifically, whereas others might become skilled artists. Therefore, a certain level of specialization during high-school could help with the improvement of the unique abilities of students before college.

Early specialization has proven to be more detrimental than beneficial for the younger generation. In a study carried out recently, it was observed that periods of high productivity are more likely to occur after periods of trying different things and exploring less familiar fields and subjects. As a result of this line of research, many educators are worried that early specialization in the school system, might be disadvantageous for the children. For instance, following early advanced scientific classes in a certain field, practicing one sport or playing one musical instrument could rob the child of the oportunity to explore different fields and gain the benefits assocaited with doing so.

Considering this, a limited degree of specialization which guarantees students having enough time to explore various areas, could provide them with the benefits of specialization without having the disadvantages of early specialization. The human brain gets stronger by practice. The more the neurons are stimulated, the stronger the bonds between them will get. Furthermore, children's brain is more plastic than that of the adults, and this plasticity decreases as the time goes by. Therefore, practicing a certain skill or ability during childhood could have substantial impact on how adept the child will grow up to be in that field. Thus, assigning a balanced combination of specialized and general classes to children based on their abilities could be beneficial for them.

In order to create a balanced curriculum containing general classes as well as specialized ones, the inborn skills of children must be identified. The major part of every kids curriculum should consist of general classes similar for all students. This general training will guarantee the child gets enough time to explore different areas and discover his/her interests. On the other hand, the limited specialized training will build on any talent that the child has in order to give him/her a boost if he/she decides to continue that path in the future.

To conclude, the benefits of practicing a skill in a child who shows innate abilities in that area, are irrefutable. However, the destructive effects of early and over specialization should be taken into account as well.