The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter Jones. “In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.” Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The plan to build a subway system, in order to mitigate Briggsville’s traffic congestions is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions upon which the success of the plan depends. If any of these assumptions don’t hold true, the plan will fail to ameliorate the traffic congestions. Moreover, the argument about this plan leading to economic growth is reif with logical fallacies.

First and foremost, the subway will be built merely through the major downtown areas which already have a public transportation system. It is assumed that the most congestions occur in this area, and that providing a more reliable alternative to buses could mitigate the situation. Considering the fact that buses, despite apparently being an unreliable means of transportation, are present in this area, this assumption is likely to be false. The mayor’s office should investigate which districts and roads contribute more to the congestions instead of assuming that downtown areas should be the focus of the plan.

Moreover, it is assumed that the new subway system would necessarily be more consistent and safer than the buses. It is unlikely that this holds true. As the number of people who use the subway as a means of transportation rises, so does the rate of crimes occuring on the subway, such as pick-pocketing and theft. Similarly, as the subways get more crowded, the chance of delays and aberrations in schedules gets higher. Therefore, using the subway won’t necessarily be a more satisfying alternative to riding the bus. The government should allocate some budget to ensuring the safety and abundance of trains in the new subway system.

The argument about the immediate effect of the plan on the economy of Briggsville is fallacious. There is no logical causal relation between less traffic and an immediate improvement in the economical state of a city. Spending less time in traffic won’t necessary render the population more productive, and it certainly doesn’t happen in a short period of time. Not only does it take time for the plan to have a noticeable impact on the decrease of traffic congestions, but it also takes time for the citizens to adapt to the new situation and possibly become more productive. Therefore, expecting an immediate improvement in the economy is not logical.

All in all, the success of the mayor’s office’s plan to combat traffic congestions depends on a number of unstated assumptions. Furthermore, the argument about the immediate effect of less traffic on the economy is fallacious.