The business district of downtown Laughton is thriving during the weekdays but is virtually uninhabited during the weekends. As a result, many of the shops and restaurants close during this time, though the proprietors must still pay rent. Since many such businesses have struggled over the last year, the mayor of Laughton has proposed that a nearby, abandoned 20-acre plot of land that houses a few dilapidated warehouses be converted into a park. Once completed, the park will serve as a weekend attraction for many families living in Laughton. As a results, many will frequent the restaurants and shops, thereby reinvigorating these struggling businesses.

The business plan proposed to increase weekend business by the mayor of Laughton is not a realistic one. Based on facts that are vague, at best, it is riddled with logical fallacies and fails to identify the root cause of failing business on weekends, which leads to an inchoate cogent to try to boost business.

The author uses vocabulary used as “thriving” and “virtually uninhabited” in order to characterise the business district. Though these words are contrasting and does give the reader a sense of the business pattern, it is vague and uninformative and the mayor of the district cannot make a sensible decision based on this feedback. A better approach would be to quantify this using statistics of people visiting the district, the number of sales that occur and the profit or losses incurred on weekdays versus on weekends. This would give more sound evidence and would define the problem Laughton encounters in clear cut fashion.

Moving on from identifying the problem encountered by the business district of Laughton, there are two main flaws with the argument that converting the dilapidated warehouses into a park would attract and improve business in the area. The first is that, opening a park in the area may not attract people to come in the first place, let alone boost business in the area. This would be true for a number of reasons. There could be more parks in Laughton already. This would mean that frequent park goers may be unwilling to switch parks to a newer park. Depending on what the warehouses used to work with, people may be reluctant to come to the park. For example, if the warehouses used to dispose of chemical waste in the region, then people would be unlikely to frequent the newly open park for safety reason, and may be even less so with their families, as the passage implies that the park is aimed at families.

Secondly, a visit to the park does not necessarily mean that people would be more inclined to buy or frequent the shops in Laughton. For example, if a person goes out for a jog in the morning at the park, they would be unlikely to visit a restaurant straight after and so there is no change to business, even though the area is being visited. There is no logical reason to say that the frequency with which people use the park would directly be translated into better business and profits. There may be a number of reasons why the area is “virtually uninhabited” during weekends. For example, perhaps Laughton families travel on weekends a lot and so are not in the neighbourhood. Perhalps families prefer to spend time at home on weekends rather than to go out and therefore the business district in empty.

Another reason why business might be not as good as on weekdays if that perhaps the businesses in the area are not family orientated and then even opening a park would not boost business. For example, if the area has a lot of pubs and bars or if it is an office area, it would explain why it is “thriving” during the week due to office workers getting lunch or drinks after work, as opposed to weekends when employees spend time away from the office with their family.

All in all, more evidence needs to be collected on the type of business in the area and business needs to be quantified, before the mayor decides whether or not opening a park near the area would affect business in Laughton.