“Allowing our children to spend hours a day IM’ing and employing social media is bound to impede their social skills as they enter adulthood and the workforce.”

The quotation above is a compelling one and we have all heard this thrown around by the generations before us, how social media and IMíng is deleterious and how we should use it only when needed. However, here lies the caveat of this claim: “bound to impede” is a very strong way of putting the supposed downfall of social skills. In reality, social media may or may not impede social skills and it all depends on the usage of the social media platform.

Our preferred means of communication is changing. Historically, children would be expected to meet up and talk face-to-face. This restricted making friends and communication to one geographical area. At most, perhaps, children would be allowed to send a letter which would take a while to reach and response time would take even longer. But now, our preferred way of communication is via IM’ing and social media. Allowing out children to spend hours a day IM’ing and employing social media may indeed increase their writing capacity and improve written communication. This is because platforms such as Twitter, Facebook and blogs can be use to express opinions and views, both key social skills. They may in fact be the base for written communication. Given, the style and the format of writing formal emails on the job is very different from the style of writing on social media, children must be allowed to spend hours on social media and one must highlight and flag up such writing differences in order for the child to “code switch” appropriately.

But it is true that the more social media is used, the less children and people would meet face-to-face and so that aspect of acquiring social skills would be impeded. However, if the importance of both social media communication and face-to-face meetings and modes of communication is highlighted to children, it is not necessarily true that the two have to be mutually exclusive. Both are important aspects of social skills in today’s world. Emphasising the importance of both, depending on context, is what would allow children to have highly developed social skills.

The work force is a dynamic one, where trends in communication change as people enter and leave it. Hence as the same group of children would be entering the workforce at the same time, the trends will change. Even now, the workforce is moving away from in person communication to more digital methods, including the use of IM and email communication. Generally speaking, things are considered “official” only when in writing on any of the “official” communication platforms such as Slack, an IM platform. This means that allowing children to spend hours on social media and IM’ing is in fact, setting them up for what the work force would look like when they enter it. Even today, we already have social media managers and all companies and universities use social media to promote themselves and inform the public and we need people who know and are fluent with the use of these platforms. Letting children converse on them and employ them would allow them to fit such job descriptions and due to today’s multidisciplinary approach to work, there is a little aspect of social media communication employed by all sectors.

On the whole, due to the change in the preferred means of communication and the rapid rate at which we are moving into the digital world, allowing children to grow up using tools that would help them land jobs and excel at their job in the future would enhance the social skills required on the job or in that era. However, it is communication with previous generations who are not so social media savvy that may show their apparently underdeveloped social skills. But we win some and we lose some and what social skills is important to future generations depends on where the emphasis is placed—one social media communication or on other forms of communication.