A recent five-year study of the sleeping habits of a selection of people challenges the belief that receiving at least eight hours of sleep a night is healthy. People in this study who reported sleeping eight or more hours a night had a higher rate of specific health problems than the subjects who slept seven hours a night on average. People who reported sleeping five hours a night had only a minimal increase in health issues compared to those who slept eight hours a night. It is apparent that people should try to sleep seven hours each night; therefore, getting too much sleep is worse for one’s health than getting too little sleep.

Write a response in which you discuss the soundness of the conclusion. Discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to consider how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The passage above claims that people should aim to get seven hours of sleep each night because, in the cited study, those who reported sleeping more than eight hours or less than seven had higher rates of health issues. There is not sufficient data presented here for the author to draw the conclusion that all people should sleep for seven hours to get maximum health benefits. Numerous important variables are absent from the information presented that would substantiate the author’s conclusion.

The author does not give crucial facts regarding the study; without this information, it is impossible to safely state that people should sleep seven hours per night. When was the study conducted? How many people were involved? What were the ages and genders of the subjects? These are all critical pieces of information. We are also unaware of other health risk factors such as diet, stress levels, alcohol consumption, whether the person smoked; all of these variables have a major impact on a person’s overall health, and sleep is but one variable. Only comparing the number of hours of sleep people received and ignoring these other factors is specious logic.

Another glaring omission is the health of the subjects prior to the study beginning. People who are healthier tend to need less sleep than people whose health is compromised in some way, so it is not clear which came first: Did the participants who slept longer do so because they had health problems, or did the fact that they slept longer than eight hours make them unhealthy? It can’t be determined based on the limited information given. In addition, we are not privy to what kind of health problems the study’s subjects suffer from. It is not clear if the health issues are mental or physiological. Sleep clearly impacts both mental and physical health, but the causal relationship between health and sleep is not evident based on this particular study.

There is also no mention of the degrees of health problems between those who slept for eight hours or more versus those who slept less than seven hours, other than saying that the difference was “slight.” It is too simplistic to suggest that people are better off sleeping too little rather than too much as it ignores other important factors.

The author is not necessarily incorrect in his conclusion, but as mentioned above, there isn’t enough information present to adequately prove his thesis. The writer needs to present more facts about the study and its participants in order to substantiate the idea that seven hours of sleep is ideal for most people. It is a mistake to make such a sweeping generalization based on the limited information presented.