The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only on-quarter of Corpora’scitizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when the suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Though it may seem like there is a correlation between fitness and the economy, the author’s argument is riddles with assumptions and flaws.

The author states that currently, only ¼ of the citizens are considered physically fit as opposed to ½ the citizens twenty years ago. These numbers are not very reliable as the author does not indicate the size of Corpora twenty years ago as opposed to today. Corpora could have been a very small company twenty years ago, making ½ of the citizens a very small number of fit people, but if Corpora has expanded in the last twenty years, ¼ of Corpora could be a very large number of people and hence that would imply an improvement in fitness levels. The author could use percentage changes in order to standardise the sample size. In addition to this, arguing that twenty years ago citizens met the then standards has no bearing on the argument.

The author also puts forward that fitness levels are the highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are the highest. However, this correlation is heavily flawed. Computer ownership does not correlate with computer usage. Owning a computer could mean that someone in the citizen’s family might use the computer and hence assessing the fitness of the owner would not have any consequences. In today’s world, there are public computers and computers at the work place that employees do not “own”. This means that one may still be working for hours on the computer and still fall into the “does not own a computer” bracket.

Expenditure on fitness-related products and services do not necessarily mean that the buyer is keeping fit. One could spend money on a gym membership and never go to the gym, just like one could spend money on buying a treadmill but never use it. In addition to this, fitness equipment or services are not always necessary to keep fit. One may go for a walk or a run to keep fit. So correlating expenditure on fitness to people actually keeping fit and then extrapolating that to the economical state leads to a number of loopholes. In addition to this, one may also argue that an increase in the economy would mean that people would be more capable of buying and owning computers and if computers are the cause of lower fitness levels, then this would lead to an overall decrease in fitness.

However, some modes of keeping fits does require financial investment and hence can be correlated to the economical state. However, this is not always the case and cannot assume to hold true in the majority of the cases in addition to assessing whether or not computers have a role in the decline of fitness.