to get a better sense of the recreational needs of the community, the teeburg town Board sent a questionnaire addressed to the “head of household” in every home in the town. the board asked a series of questions designed to zero in on residents’ recreational preferences, in hopes of finding three they might fund in the upcoming year. the board was gratified to get a reasonable return rate of nearly 40 percent of all questionnaires. Based on that response, the board recommended that the following top vote getters be added to the town budget: a snowmobile trail, a skeet-shooting range, and a putting green.

Critique the reasoning used in the argument presented above by examining the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument and explaining the implications for the conclusion if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the argument in this passage seems logical on the surface, it has numerous flaws that prevents the outcome from being the best one possible. Among other things, the town Board needs to increase the number of responses, be more inclusive and the passage needs to include more details about the questionnaire itself in order to make a recommendation on the basis of the responses it receives.

The first flaw in the argument if that the questionnaire was addressed to the “head of household”. This excludes feedback from the individual family members in the household. Even if the questionnaire is shared with the members of the household, not everyone in the household would have the same recreational preference, making it hard to answer a single questionnaire. In addition to this, it may be hard for young children and other dependents to take part in such a questionnaire. Furthermore, the town Board is making an assumption that each home in the town is a small nuclear family. This would exclude tenants who are paying rent or visitors to the town who are living there for an extended period of time as they will not be the “owner” of the household but could frequent the recreation centre, limiting participation.

Secondly, 40% is not a very high response rate. Besides, we do not know which 40% of the community responded to the questionnaire. It is highly unlikely that everyone in Teeburg uses the recreational facilities in the town. What is the 40% that do not frequently use the facilities responded to the questionnaire? This would mean that the response received does not cater to the group of townspeople who do use the facilities frequently. The argument could be strengthened by either increasing the response rate by incentivising the responses or by handing out the questionnaire at the recreational facilities. This way, people who do actively engage with it receive the questionnaire.

Lastly, we do not know the structure of the questionnaire. From the passage, the questionnaire seems to have be structured so that people can vote for their top three preferred activities. However, if the facilities available are a bit rundown and not properly maintained, users might prefer the town Board budget to maintain the facility rather than to introduce new recreational activities. But we cannot get this information from this passage, which can be rectified by having a detailed understanding of the questionnaire being sent to people. In addition to this, even if there is a budget that the town can spend on improving recreational facilities, there is not statistics and information about how much is available. Can the top three recreational activities be covered by the budget? Are they all extremely expensive activities or is there enough money to fund all three?

In conclusion, there is not enough information presented to us in this passage to agree or disagree with the recommendation. In addition to this, the town needs to employ a different way to engage with the community and get more reliable feedback and information.