to get a better sense of the recreational needs of the community the teeburg town Board sent a questionnaire addressed to the head of household in every home in the town the board asked a series of questions designed to zero in on residents recreational p

The prompt shares the Teeburg Town Boards decisions of assigning budget to establishing more recreational facilities. Despite the judicious decision of using surveys and statistical data to finalize the outcome, the board members deviate from the logical reasoning procedure and make erroneous judgments.

The first conundrum arises from the targets of the questionnaire. The head of a household, often being the breadwinner, is in classical familial terms is the father. So potentially, the top results of the survey are the general interests of the male population of the community whereas interests of the women is broadly overlooked. Moreover, since snowmobile and use of fire arms in skeet shooting is clearly dangerous for small children and putting green mainly requires a sense patience and mindfulness that hyper-energetic youngsters and teenagers generally lack, all three choices are negligent to the recreational needs of the non-adult population.

Additionally, the problem of costs must also be taken into account. A used snowmobile costs over a thousand dollars and the clothing and gear are also costly; skeet shooting ranges have high maintenance cost composed of but not limited to the guns, ammunition, implementing safety protocols and the clay-based targets. While setting up a green putting for an entire community is not as costly as the other two, but using it requires encumbering each household with the costs of golf equipment. Consequently, prior to underwriting such a hefty expenditure, the amount of the intended budget must be levied against other important needs of the community. For instance, is it wise to strain the town budget for making a snowmobile trail when the community needs better roads or a newer public transport system?

Lastly, this result is based on the responses from less than half of this community. The utmost problem with turnout is that doesn’t reflect even the majority of this community. Perhaps, Teeburge Town’s population is mostly comprised of frugal and indigent citizens and the results of the mentioned questionnaire only reflects the most affluent residents, therefore ,given the costly nature of these activities for families, it is not wise to prodigally fund activities that wouldn’t benefit the majority. Furthermore, when comparing their options, citizens may prefer simpler and cheaper facilities like a badminton court so that the budget could support better parks or governmentally sponsored swimming pools which will as well serve as leisurely environments for the public.