The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home applianc

In any long running business it is indispensable to plan with foresight for possible upcoming circumstances to avoid loss. Having that in mind, evaluating the presented argument reveals several loop holes.

At first, the writer boldly assumes that the mentioned surveys must necessarily be reliable but were those surveys taken exclusively from client of the mentioned company? And if so, was the main concern of the report electricity consumption? Since it could have been a survey on family expenditure habits where electricity saving was at best 3 out of 30 questions.

Additionally, the writer puts too much emphasis on domestic electricity consumption, evidently assuming it is the main source of revenue for the company. However, we must be cognizant that highest amount of energy consumption is often correlated to industrial use therefore the company must first consider the ratio of domicile usage to that of industry, if for example only 20 percent of income is due to supported houses, then it is asinine to solely base the company expansion program on them. Should the industry face future growth or proliferation of plant in the vicinity occur, the company will have to sign away this opportunity to its rivals.

Even if domicile usage propagates the most revenue, the writer has simply sidelined a pertinent fact which is modern life style is metamorphosing with unprecedented celerity, so businesses must also adapt swiftly. While common household item are parsimonious in energy expenditure, their sheer number has grown exponentially firstly due to population increase and secondly through more varied options available. Many people now not only own rudimentary item such as refrigerators or dish washer but also a home gym with a treadmill or extravagant gaming system, some even mine crypto currencies therefore hasty decision making could result in extensive loss of fortune.

On the final note, the corporation must make a judicious call on the matter of its further operation scale. The outcome, whether to install more equipment or to maintain the status quo more unquestionably be granted through more pertinent and trustworthy research than the one offered by the writer.