The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memorandum who indicates that constructing new electric generating factories will not be necessary provides interesting evidence. However, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion.

Citing surveys of home owners, the author reports that the home owners are increasingly keen to conserve energy. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that survey. For example, the survey could have asked home owners "do you prefer to save more energy or want to see consumer electricity prices doubled?", which may influence home owners toward energy conservation. The sample may not represent the area residents, asking only those residents who own house. Moreover, perhaps these surveys are conducted by the manufacturers which have produced home appliances with excellent energy efficiencies and have the purpose of increasing wide range usage of energy efficient appliances, while the fact may be opposite. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

Additionally, the author implies that the energy consumption will decline, because many home machine products, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, are applied new technologies like passive solar heating support. However, in making this conclusion, he makes several assumptions without considering questions that need to be addressed. First, whether the area's residents desire to substitute their old home appliances by the new ones. In other words, the prices of modern appliances applied new technologies are often higher than the obsolete ones. Therefore, perhaps not many residents are willing to spend sum of money for energy efficient appliances. Second, even if many residents purchased energy efficient appliances, whether the prediction of the author which is "the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly" will become true. For example, the number of population of the area increase dramatically in the next several years, which can create a negative impact on energy consumption of the area. We just do not know. Thus, the author needs to answer these above questions to convince us that his prediction will become true.

Building upon the implication that three electric generating factories for the past twenty years have always met their needs, the author concludes that it is unnecessary that constructing new generating plants. If the total demand for electricity in their area in the future was the same as its twenty years ago, this may be true. However, the author jumps to the conclusion while he/she do not indicate any statistics about the entire demand for electricity in his/her area in the future. In fact, there are many hidden factors which are able to influence on the entire electricity demand of the area. For example, On one hand, total electricity increase significantly because of the increase of area's population. On the other hand, in the future, there are a lot of factories constructed in the area which consume a large amount of energy of the area. Whether that time three electric generating plants can supply adequate energy for whole area.

In conclusion, this argument is neither apparent nor convincing since it leaves out several angles and factors. I strongly believe that if the argument included the factors discussed above, the argument would have been more plausible and convincing.