A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow specialized study of a single discipline Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned

The main role of education is to prepare us for the future circumstances. Even though having even the most rudimentary knowledge of arts is enlightening, we must allow students to broaden their attention span to any subject they might find more intriguing.I shall elaborate my reason under two main points in paragraphs below.

Firstly,while I do believe broadening the span of studies is vital, I also believe expanding this endeavor only to liberal arts is still narrow-minded.Students must be encouraged yet be given the discretion of choosing courses that may well be unrelated to their field of study but still cover another facet of their interests like social sciences or other aspects of art like creative writing. As an example, many colleges and universities now require students to take elective to ensure no students gets too occupied by every day requirements of their course and would graduate their institution as a well informed individual not a walking-talking text book.

In addition, viewing other possible educational path way parallel to that of one's major field of study has made way for interdisciplinary studies. Now there are many courses available that combine disciplines that before were deemed incompatible like use of art in modern medicine.In fact I am also planning to study in a program that encompasses three major field of economy,sociology and politics because I believe modern world problem are so entangled that require specialists with flexibility in several field to find an inclusive answer without creating a newer debacle.

On the whole, I agree that a quality education must be more immersive than the established tortuous path of the same books and classes but the students must be given a choice whether they want to include arts or other topic in their curriculum or not.