A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

Nowadays, versatility is preferred almost everywhere, and often versatile people gets the upper hand over specialized people in many scenarios. An undergraduate student need to major in a particular discipline, as well as, also need to possess different skillset to prosper in their later life. But, the topic has raised a controversial issue stating that one student will only be ‘truly’ learned by exploring the spectrum of liberal arts. As the topic suggests, a typical university offers courses in a number of discipline, which might aid in the versatility of the student. Taking compulsory courses in liberal arts might not be good for them, in terms of mental or academic growth. However, for some students, pursuing arts course might open up some other career path to prosper or might help them refresh by changing subjects which they typically read. Thus, I generally disagree with the notion of exploring mandatory arts course, which the topic suggested as the only way to prepare the student an all-rounder.

Universities tend to offer a myriad number of possibilities in terms of subject and course choices. In order to become specialized as well as versatile, a typical undergraduate need to take subjects pertaining to his intended major as well as some other side courses. Let's say, a student specializing in developmental genetics would not likely to take arts as his minor, would likely to take courses which might aid his understanding of the core subject of interest.

Furthermore, if a university offers a course structure with a mandatory liberal arts course, students will likely to avoid enrolling into the particular stream, which might hamper the reputation of the institute. Students will likely avoid getting enrolled, also the enrolled students might not be content with their course structure, which was sort of imposed on them. A student should have their own rights while choosing the subject combination to be specialized, and compulsory courses on liberal arts will not support the idea.

However, in the universities, a student should follow his passion and pursue some other courses for refreshment. The same undergraduate need to blow his steam off by taking some subjects, which he/she might actually are passionate about. Or, the nice change of pace offered by the arts courses might refresh and rejuvenate the pupil up before undergoing the tedious assignments in his field of major.

To sum it up, although the courses in liberal arts might offer some sort of relaxation or freshness to some extent to students needing change from their usual set of subject choices, taking courses in arts shouldn't be a part of the mandatory course structure. Taking arts courses are not the only way to be 'truly' learned. In this era of versatility, students should be disciplined as well as need to be versatile enough to perform in several platform, but unwilling students studying mandatory courses in arts might be regressive for the betterment of the students, as well as for the institution.