Essay topics: "Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The follwoing argument is provided from a letter to the editor of an aeronautics magazine which proposed it will be better to send unmanned space probes and satellites to the space to avoid risks and costs associated with it, therefore the budget should be entirely allocated to unmanned space operations. The argument provided in the letter is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Due to the recent advancement of technologies, Unmanned space probes are a reality. But the argument assumes that manned and unmanned space operations are similar in terms of cost associated, the amount of information it will gather in similar time etc. It is far easier and less time consuming to train a set of astronauts to get the necessary information from the expidition than creating and sending an unmanned satellite to collect data from a similar outer space expidition. Unmanned space probes need extra time, money and maintainence to perform the same set of work.

Setting up resources to create and launch unmanned space programs are far more riskier. Though there are a handful set of examples of machine centered space operations, still the uncertainity will be far more than a mission designated and performed by humans. There should be simlutaneous space operations, which will be performed by both man and machine, to compare the yeild and cost associated with the task. Otherwise, it will be of high risk to set the entire budget limited to unmanned space operation.

The evidences provided to support the argument are incomplete and not convincing. Unmanned space operation need extra time, effort, and manpower; and the degree of uncertainity is far more than manned space operations. The argument might have been strengthened by inclusion of some logical surveys of cost and investments associated with the space operations, and some sort of risk assesments of the astronauts. Thus, the argument from the letter to invest resources in the unmanned space operations is not completely valid and sound.