The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument is based on how tufted groundhogs, which lives in the West Lansburg coastal regions may face a similar fate of sea otter, which declined rapidly after disbanding the sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria in 1978. The argument is flawed for several possible reasons, which should be clarified before making any possible conclusion based on the following arguments from the letter.

First of all, the similar case that has been cited was for sea otter, which is a completely different organism than tufted groundhogs. Different organisms have different lifestyles and life history trai...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.