The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

To evaluate the argument of whether or not the West Lansburg council should allow the road to be built, one fundamental question must be answered; will the building of the road cause harm to the populations of the tufted groundhog who lives in the coastal wetlands of Wesr Lansburg? Critics of the road building have argued that the building of the road would cause the population of tufted groundhog to decline just as the population of the sea otter declined in neighboring Eastern Carpenteria when a road was built and the sactaury status repealed.

However, one must question the assumption that suggests that the decline of the popualtion of the sea otter was related to the construction of the road. Perhaps the decline of the sea otters in Eastern Carpenteria was due to an external factor such as change in climatic conditions. It could also be that the decline has been happening way before the construction of the road. If evidence points to external factors leading to the decline of the sea otters population in Eastern carpenteria, especially way before the road construction as posited by the critics of the road building project, then it would suggest that there may be little or no effect on the population of the tufted groundhog even if a road is built along the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg.

One may also question the reason why the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg became a wildlife sanctuary in the first place. If the population of the tufted groundhog had been declining even before the proposal for the road building, then it would be silly to associate subsequent decline to the road. Similarly, the population patterns before and after making the coastal wetlands a wildlife sanctuary must be investigated. Do evidence show that making the wetlands a sanctuary help stem the decline in the population of the tufted groundhog? If evidence shows that population decline was still ongoing even after the declaration of the wetland as as a wildlife sanctuary, then there are other external factors that are actually in effect and that the idea of building a road may not be detrimental as it is suggested.