The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument concedes, West Lansburg Council should not allow to built road near the edge of the wetlands with some claims. For this, he have given the evidences with comparing to the Neighbouring Eatern Carpentaria. According to him, for the protection of tufted groundhog, which once become numbered should be preserved. However, the evidences and claims provided by the author seems valid but incomplete and dubious.

The author assumes, for the preservation of tufted groundhog, along with bio-diversity, West Lansburg should not allow to built raod near by it. However, he does not provides any suffiecient evidences about the disturbances to the tufted groundhog. He does not creates any studt regarding the foavourable adaptive environment regarding the sustaing of tufted groundhug. Perhaps, it may not be created disturbed by the nearby road. Perhaps, if the road is too essential; these groundhog can also be shifted in the next sanctuary. Morever, he does not regards the voices of nearaby community people, either, majority of the people wants road for communication. Morever, there was not any research regarding the deteriration condition of these tufted groundhog.

Secondly, author assumes that Neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria where there is declining of tufted groundhog since the repeal of sanctuary. But, it does not give any evidences about any number of decreased population. It seems quite ambiguous. Morever, in the case of West Lansburg, the demand is of only to built he road along the edge of a wetlands. The condition of Neigbouring Western Carpentaria and West Lansburg seems totally different.

Thirdly, author also discussed about the local developmental interest lobbying case. The author does not gives any evidences regarding the number of local people who were lobbying. It might be few of the local people who seeks to get personal benifit. The author must study in reagards of the local area and provided the evidences what majority of the people wants.

In conclusion, unless the author provides evidences about the total local population who seeks for this demand; wheteher it is a real need for the local peope, the environment which is favourable to the growing of tufted groundhog, and any shiftment of these groundhog is possible or not; these assumption seems baseless.