The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wi

The given argument is flawed for numerous reasons. The conclusion pointed out in the passage based on some unwarrented assumptions and they will be elaborated below.

First of all, the passage points out that the ancient records show that the number of turfted groundhog was several millions. However, the passage does not indicate any current statistics about tufted groundhog. It is possible that there is still a glut of tufted groundhog and the construction of a road will have a negligeable effect on their number. It is also likely that the current amount tufted groudnhog is so scarse and is deterotiating with singificant rate, so that governmental measures are unlikely to resolve the issue.

Secondly, the passage shows information about sea otter decline in Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria. However, based on what happened to sea otter, we cannot make conclusions and decisions about tufted groundhog. If the landscape fulll of constructions are inimical to the existense of sea otters, it does not mean that it will have the same effect on turfted groundhog. Therefore, it should be first found out whether tufted groundhogs and sea otters prefer similar lifstyle and perefer similar landscape.

Even if we assume that groundhogs and sea otters have similar responses to the development along their living area, we do not know what exactly was the reason of decline in the number sea otters. There might be some other reasons for their decline. It is possible there were some environmental issues on the landscape. For example, the temperature might have been increased or decline which led to the decline of the number of sea otters.

Lastly, is it correct that we are comparing Neighboring Eastern Capenteria. May be Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria has pretty different landscape and is not possible to be compared with West Lansburg. It is also possible that no construction has taken place on Neighboring Eastern Capenteria until now, which means that the reason of population decline of sea otters is not because of developmental sanctuary.

Based on the arguments which have been discussed above, the conclusion pointed out in the passage is not correct. Some more evidence and unwarrednted assumptions must be taken into considerations before making decision about West Lansburg sanctuary.