The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

There is a common belief that young people can be taught for leadership in various fields (eg. government, industry) through cooperation. In a such a competitive society, cooperation with others is highly valued, because you can get smarter and more experiences through learning based on others' experiences and knowledge.

First of all, to come up with some kind of innovation, you need knowledge in diverse fields. For example, if one wants to develop some kind of exoskeleton, it is really difficult to make it up by your own effort if you are just a mechanical engineer. You would need to cooperate with an electrical engineer to come up what kind of sensors and actuators you need to install. Also, you would need a control engineer to come up with some kind of contorl algorithm so that it results natural trajectory of a human ankle. If you want to make it a startup, probably, you could ask a help from economist to deal with financial matters. Therefore, cooperation would help you to get assisstance from other specialists.

Secondly, networking is a good way of getting more knowledgable about various things around us. By talking to diverse kind of people, you can get different information from others and get more knowledgable. For example, in scientific conferences, scholars share their ideas and this can help one to improve their research and make it more competitive. Also, another professor you meet in the conference may suggest an advice to solve your research problem.

Thirdly, networking with people may be advantageous to get some kind of help in the future. For instance, if you are looking for a PhD position, one of your contacts you have made throughout your life may suggest a good supervisor. This tiny

However, there are some peope who thinks that leadership can be taught through competitition. This may be true, because it make help you to have some kind of distinciton from others. If you cooperate with people and develop something in a team, your effort may be lost in that and noone would see you as a leader.

In conclusion, I think that leadership can only be taught through cooperation, because networking is a best way of getting information, sharing experience or ask some kind of help from your contacts to make your career better.