The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that the West Lansburg Council should not allow the roads to be built along the coastal wetlands. As it can be seen that the tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of the West Lansburg, it is very important that the area is protected and reserved.

The author bases his conclusion by comparing results with Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary. However, the sanctuary status was repealed in 1978 due to which constructions were allowed, which in turn harmed the aquatic life of the sea. Hence, the author thinks that the same would result in West Lansburg and hence, doesn’t want the road to be built. It is very important that the condition of Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria must be examined before jumping to conclusions. The author must not be aware of a number of other reasons for the depletion of aquatic life in that area.

Firstly, the author assumes that decrease of the population of the sea was because of the repeal of its sanctuary status. The author nowhere mentions that the new status involves building of roads which would actually affect the wildlife.

Secondly, the author doesn’t find out the actual reasons for the reducing number of the groundhog. As it is mentioned that the number was once in millions, it is very important to find out the actual reason behind the falling figures. Measures must be taken with respect to the actual reasons of the falling numbers.

Also, the author nowhere mentions that how the construction of the road along the coastline would affect the groundhog. As long as the construction of the roads doesn’t harm its natural habitat and the coastline is not destroyed by its construction, it would be good enough to construct roads.

Hence, it is necessary for the author to gets the fact right before concluding the entire discussion on general information.