Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Over the centuries, a lot of people have been interested in what it takes to be an effective leader. Countless number of experiments and studies have gone into the problem but there has been little consensus as to which exact factors are most important. The general agreement is that traits like critical thinking, vision, ability to mainatin respect of peers and critics, sound moral thinking among others as equally important. Thus, to assert that a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is more important than having sound moral judgement is misleading. I believe that that sound moral judgement is at least as important as maintaining respect for at least two cogent reasons.

First, a leader is chosen to lead a set of people because he/ she is believed to be able to drive them in the right direction in order to achieve their goals efficiently and effectively. He or she does this by taking sound decisions. As pyschologists have shown, one important component of the quality of your decisions is the strength of your moral convinction and judgement. For example, in the book, Built to Last by foremost leadership experts, it was explicitly proven, by the means of well conducted scientific researches, that while every leader is prone to mistaken judgement, the best leaders are those who have sound moral judgement and could stand by their decision even in the face of opposition as long as it agrees their enduring principles, the same ones that they had when they were chosen as leaders. As leader are chosen not to liked by all and sundry (even though it is important that they are) but to achieve results, it is clear that sound moral judgement is just as important as the ability to maintain the respect of your peers.

Second, a leader has to have sound moral judgement in order not be swayed by sycophants and jingoists who always praises him/ her despite the quality of this or her decision. Without a sound moral judgement, a leader might be easily misled by the fake supporters that surrounds him or her. For the leader to be effective, the leader must not only know how to see through his own moral blindness but also that of his peers. For example, many Germans adored Hitler during the second world war and this led him to extremes that he could not come back from. Pyschologists have argued that this syndrome is similar in all bad leaders who later become dicators. Without a sound moral judgement, they are prone to thinking they can do no wrong and with adoring followership (who may entirely be naive or unaware of the wrongs their beloved leader is doing) to cheer them up, they end up as bad, inefficient leaders at best.

It might be argued that to be able truly lead a set of people you must have their respect as it is the only way they will trust your judgement and decisions. While I agree with this assertion, I do not agree that this respect is more important than having a sound moral judgement. If anything, there are both like colours in the rainbow, equally important for the true beauty of the rainbow to be seen. For a leader to be effective, he or she needs traits like sound moral judgement, ability to maintain respect from peers, vision, critical thinking among other things. Any assertion that tries to elevate one of this traits above the others is highly misleading.