The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that to prevent serious patient infection, UltraClean should be supplied to all hand-washing stations in all hospital system. The conclusion was reached based on a number of evidence. One, in a laboratory test, UltraClean produced a 40% greater reduction in the bacteria population than any other liquid hand soaps currently used in the hospital. Two, in a field test, the hospital that used UltraClean reported fewer cases of patient infection than the other hospitals that did not. However, to properly evalute this argument, two specific evidence are needed.

First, we need to consider the evidence that the reported fewer cases of patient infections was actually caused by the use of UltraClean and not just a mere correlation. For example, it was found recently found that there is a correlation between the presence of a particular breed of bird (and their numbers) and the number of pregnant women in a part of Germany. While this correlation exists, it would be silly to imply that the birds caused the increase in the number of pregnant women. If the reported fewer cases are due to simple correlation not causation like in the example cited, then the conclusion that UltraClean should be deployed to all hospitals does not hold water. Thus, we need specific evidence to show that this is not the case.

Second, we need to also consider the evidence to ascertain that serious patient infections are actually caused by bacteria and not some other form of pathogen. For instance, aome years back in Lagos, Nigeria, it was assumed that the increasingly worrying traffic situation was as a result of narrow roads. The government then spent billions of dollars to widen the roads. It turned out that the increase in traffic was as a result of poor drainage instead and the widening of the road did not improve the traffic sitaution. if evidence suggests that the majority of serious infections that occurs in the hospitals are as a result of viruses, then even if UltraClean has the effect on bacteria as it claims it does, it would do little to prevent the cases of serious infections that occur in the hospitals when deployed.

In conlusion, the argument for the deployment of UltraClean in all hospitals to prevent serious patient infections as it is currently made, does not hold much water. Much more evidence has to be gathered, perhaps in the form of a proper blind control study, to properly evaluate the current argument.