The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The director argues that the twenty percent reduction in patient infections was caused by the use of UltraClean soap as shown by both laboratory and field tests of the soap. To critically judge the director's claim, two alternative explanations must be thoroughly considered.

First, , the proportion of reduction may just be entirely random. The director assumes that the reduction in the reported patient infections of twenty percent is significant. There is no evidence to suggest this. For example, a reduction from five infections to four infections, which can happen randomly, is a reduction of twenty percent but can hardly be termed significant while a reduction from hundred infection cases to eighty five cases is far more significant and unlikely to happen randomly but just amounts to a fifteen percent reduction. Thus, for the director's argument to be valid, we have to know the absolute numbers and determine if the said reduction in infections is not random.

Second, the apparent drop in proportion may be due to the fact that the Worktown hospital is not comparable or similar to the other hospitals in the group. The director assumes that all the hospitals in the group are comparable. However this may not be true. The apparent twenty percent reduction in patient infections could be normal in the Worktown hospital where cases of reported patients infections vary significantly normally. This huge variance may not be the case for the other hospitals in the group. To critically judge the director's claim, we have to understand how the patients infections normally vary in these hospitals and if the twenty percent reduction is something that could be expected. If it could, then the director claim is not valid.

The author's argument as it stands currently flawed. We need extra evidence such as the normal variation of patients infection in the hospital, the absolute values of the drop in patients infection and so on to properly examine the director's conclusion.