The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular- strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap.”

The director of a large group of hospital maintains that all the hospital within their system should substitute UltraClean for a present hand-washing product so as to prevent serious patient infections. However, this argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

The director states that the study shows that UltraClean can produce 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than the liquid hand soaps currently used in the hospital. An assumption here is that the study is made by professional experts at bacteria study and the experts did not make any fabricated data to make any money from the corporation of UltraClean. Furthermore, we do not obtain the exact total of the number of reduction in the bacteria population. It is possible that there were two people reductions after using the current hand-washing product and there were 3 people reductions after using UltraClean, which are both figures well below the industry average.

Even if the number of reduction in bacteria population is prominent, it does not mean that the group of hospitals should replace all the hand-washing product. Maybe the cost of the substitution will lead to a considerable burden for the individual hospital. The author seems to assume that all the hospitals inside the system are wealthy. Even if all the other hospitals are rich, the assumption that patients are infected by the bacteria via physical interaction may be erroneous. If those infected patients emerge the syndromes that only popular in the bacteria which only infect people via fresh air, then the replacement of hand-washing product may not useful.

The author also assumes that the subsequent test in Workby can be analogous to other left hospitals. Nevertheless, it is possible that the Workby has the fewest patients and most medical staff than any other hospital. So patients in Workby got too much care to get any infection. In contrast, other hospitals may have an unbalanced ratio of patients to medical staff; thus, even all the hand-washing products are replaced by UltraClean, the infection ratio may not drop down efficiently.

The director now wants to supply UltraClean at all hand-washing station throughout their hospital system. Nonetheless, it is also likely that the number of infection would not subside, because of a filthy hospital environment. Or worse, the number of infection will increase, due to the wrong awareness of considering that the latest hand-washing product would protect them no matter what thing happened.

In conclusion, the director has to explain the above assumptions to make his arguments more convincing.