The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager suggests television station that they should restore weather and local news to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenues. However, the evidence provided by the manager is not enough.

The author argues that the viewers were concerned about the coverage of weather and local news. However, we need to know whether those viewers are talking a truth. Maybe those so-called viewers are the employees of other television station. Because other television stations consider that the national news made by the author's corporation is too perfect to outstrip; thus, those other tv stations decide to pretend a viewer and give a wrong advice to them. Even if those viewers are authentic viewer, we still need to know the exact number of reporting the concern. Maybe the tv station only got total ten reporting last year and six of ten reporting is concerning with the weather and local news. But the total reporting number is very low, not to say only six reporting concern weather and local news in a year. Thus, we can not draw a conclusion before we obtain the exact number of reporting.

The manager maintains that the advertising revenue is dropping because of decreasing the number of local businesses. However, we don't have the exact reason why those companies want to cancel the advertising contract with them. Maybe the true reason is the bad quality of the late-night news program or because those corporations do not have enough money to sustain the advertisements. Therefore, the tv station should ask the authentic reason before restoring local news.

Even if the true reason is because of the diminishing of local news. It doesn't mean the tv station should restore the local news. Perhaps the expenditure of local news is very high and the profit earned from the advertising compare to the cost of local news is pretty low. For the long term consideration, it is not a good method to restore local news.

To conclude, the manager should expound those above-mentioned evidence to uphold his claim.