The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sureto explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the statement argues about utilizing the extra resistant ultra clean hand soap in hospitals to halt the distribution of fatal diseases. To endorse this thesis, the articles author emphasizes on three postulations: 1) alleviation of deleterious bacteria among the persons in special sections of hospitals, 2) extenuating of infections and the last but not least reduction of lethal illness among patients. Close scrutiny each of the facts divulges no plausible support to this recommendation.

Nor does the mere fact that the implementing the extravagant strength ultraclean hand soap can be accessible for all hospitals. In fact, there exist the issue of financial restrictions for hospitals to purchase these novel hand soaps, since most of the time the appearance of new technology requires a plethora of currency to demonstrate its usefulness for users. Thus, the allegations about exploitation of this new one in lieu of the previous case still needs more investigation in meeting the sufficient budget. To shed more light, the more the financial problems is sitting on the hospitals’ shoulders, the less tendency of doctors to purchase these types of soaps. Here the role of appropriate cost can be comprehended.

Even evidence that these new kinds of hand soups can mitigate the number of bacteria does not seem totally credible. Because, there are a wide variety types of bacteria which are resistant to many sundry cases, and these ones may can have the potential of demolishing the specific types not all. Based on this explanation, yet the memo contains no precise information about what kinds of bacteria are scrutinized to justify this presumption. Thus, after recognizing the types of bacteria, it can be concluded that these new ones can be impermeable to those bacteria or not. Rarely do these soaps manifest the high yield without knowing their extent of their strength.

The interpretation of statement about smothering the inclement diseases with the means of these new soaps also does not sound reasonable. As a matter of the fact, the extent of the severity of diseases has not been revealed conspicuously, hence, the privileges of these soaps cannot be substantiated completely. Additionally, that the amount of spreading the infection among the special sections in one hospital may be impressed by other factors such as elevating the personal hygiene or lifting the situation of amenities and equipment to reduce the prevalence of spreading contiguous illnesses. As a result, the subsistence of other factors is underestimated by the author about supplanting these disease-resistant ultraclean instead of the current ones.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore untenable as it stands. To bolster the hypothesis, the writer must deem the types of adverse bacteria and the degree of resistance of them to these new soaps, as well as , the significance of inhibit cost of entering these new technologies should be regarded. Ultimately, it is critically essential to determine the severity of infections to provide the sufficient strength soaps to stifle the distribution of lethal illnesses.