The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memo argues that their reduction rate in patient infections is due to their employment of UltraClean soap with the given data. This sounds convincing at first glance, however, with a closer examination, there could be a few other explanations of this reduction in percentage.

On explanation may be that the hospital in Worktown has used a variety of methods to disinfect patients, staff, and the environment there. For instance, the antibiotics they have given the patients may have been more effective than the ones they used in the past; the janitors of the hospital may be more careful in terms of cleaning the rooms and the surgery equipments, which can also lead into a lower infection rate. In this case, the use of UltraClean soap may just be a coincidence, and has no effect in the reduced rate of infections. Therefore, before, the adoption of the soap may not be the actual reason.

Besides, the hospital compared its number of infection cases with other hospitals in the group without taking the total amount of patients into consideration. Even though it shows a fewer a cases in comparison, this does not imply that role of UltraClean in it. The fewer cases may be a result of fewer paitents who needed surgeries in comparison to other hospitals. Whe the base is lower, there may be a lower occurrances of infections, which could also explain the reduction. On the contrary, other hospitals may accepted more patients and may have operated more surgeries on patients causing to have a bigger population to be prone to infections. As a result, hospital in Worktown’s infection reduction may be caused by a fewer patient population. Furthermore, another alternative reason could be that the other hospitals’ are less efficient in terms of cleaning up their surgery equipments and their surgery rooms, which will preserve more bacteria that may cause more infection cases. For instance if this is the case, the effect of the UltraClean soap is unclear.

As aforementioned, even though the hospital director’s argument sounds believable, it is far from valid. In order to strengthen the director’s point, it is indispensable to exam and to exclude these alternative reasons discussed above.