Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

After looking at its on franchises performance, Plainsvilles’ sales reports on sportswear, and some other facts, Nature’s Way proposed to open a franchise in the town of Plainsville. Although this proposal sounds to be very convincing, it is based on assumptions repleted with holes and flaws.

First of all, Nature’s Way used the local report of the constant high sales of running shoes and athletic outwear to argue that residents in Plainsville lead a healthy life style. However, the company ignored to consider one fact: whether the residents wear these running shoes and exercise outfits to work out. It may be possible that people in this city prefer to wear casual and comfortable shoes and clothing as their routine. Unless Nature’s Way can prove that these running shoes and exercise apperal are actually used in working out, the connection it drew between the sales data and Plainsville’s healthy life style is invalid.

Besides, the company assumed the high enrollment of the the fitness classes is because of people in Plainsville are very physically active. However, they made this assumption without looking into how many fitness centers and how many fitness classes are offered in town. One alternative explanation of such a high enrollment of these classes is that the town simply does not that many courses offered. The limited course offers may make each training session full, however, it is unrealistic to conclude from this that the majority of the people in Plaisville are engaged in working out and living a healthy life.

What is more, the company believed that there is also a massive market among school childer, because now the students are required to participate in the fitness-for-life program at school. Nevertheless, the effectiveness of this program is unkown. How much will it improve students’ awareness of leading a healthy life? Even if students’ awareness are improved, how many of them will actually embark on activities that promot their health. Plus, schoolchildren’s life style deeply affected by their parents since the parents are mainly in charge of the schoolchildren’s life. Therefore, if the parents live an unhealthy life, that may actually influence how these children view heath. As a result, it is very presumptuous to assume a promising market among these children.

In short, Nature’s Way’s arguments seemed to be reasonable at the first glance; however, in order to support these arguments, the aspects discussed need to be taken into consideration.