The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

New Ventures Consulting made a prediction that a HobCo shob in southeast Grilldon based on some statistic data. However, a closer investigation of these data will display the holes and flaws exsiting this this predition. In order to make the predication more accurate, a few questions need to answered.

To begin with, the memo used a poll conducted in Grilldon with an 88% rate of welcoming a hobby shop. However, how representative can this survey result be? If only a very small population was participating in the poll, the result cannot strongly indicate this is the tendency for most of the residents living in southeastern Grilldon. Therefore, the company needs to find out how many people took the survey as well as the population in southeastern area.

Secondly, the consulting company said that Grilldon has many retired people who have plenty of time to develop hobbies. However, having time available is not equivalent to actually embarking on hobbies. Therefore, a survey among retirees in Grilldon concerning to their pasttime will be beneficial. Besides, it is also necessary to find out where these retired people live in Grilldon. If this target group are scattered around or live in other parts of town, they may not want to travel to the southeastern part of the city to visit the hobby shop.

What is more, the consulting company also quoted a national data and arguing that Grilldon is located in a region where the hobby industry has been growing expotentially. However, this data cannot support the assumption that this growth can be applied to Grilldon as well. Grilldon may be one of the areas in the whole region where the hobby industry is not developing that fast. Therefore, it will also be constructive to figure out whether Grilldon’s hobby industry has been growing for the past decade.

In conclusion, New Ventures Consulting’s prediction on the success of the hobby shop is based on assumptions that are rife with flaws. In order to increase its likelihood, it is indispensidble to further exmaine the questions discussed above.