As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From my personal perspective, this is a topic as complicated as topics abortion and gun control that are worth of our attention and discussion. Honestly, it is quite impossible to thoroughly examine it in such a short essay composed in thirty minutes. However, I would like tho share my few thoughts on this matter here.

As an individual in my twenties, like many of my peers, I do use a large amount of tech devices in my daily life, such as smartphones, tablets, voice control “Alexa,” and other smart devices. Many of these high-tech pieces have brought convenience to our busy modern life and are very user-friendly. As a result, I do agree that our lives are more and more influenced by technology. However, I thinks it is questionable to state that utilization of technology is detrimental to our thinking ability.

First of all, how would you define “the ability of humans to think for themselves?” There are simply many different types of thinking abilities such as, critical thinking skills and problem solving skills. There are people who are simply lazy and resort to these high-tech resources to complete simple tasks. For instance, instead of doing the simple calculation on their own, many people rely on calculators while they are budgeting their monthly expenses. In this sense, it is likely that their mathematical abilities may be declining. I think this type of people are abusively using technology, as a result, their “thinking ability” may really deteriate (please note that it is the people, not the technology who plays the fundamental role here).

However, it is not appropriate to conclude that each individual’s thinking ability’s degradation is correlated to the application of technology. To begin with, to develop these tech, people are likely to develop innovative concepts and skills that are not in existence in the past, which requires human beings’ “brain power” to comprehend something new. Second, to use these tech, people are involuntarily adapting to new types of skills with the potential replacement of some old skills. For example, it maybe the case that many people stop doing elementary calculations, but they use the save time and energy to do more advanced coding. There is a shift of abilities. The changes in abilities are not equivalent to the deterioration of our human “thinking” abilities.

In a conclusion, although there are people who choose to overly rely on technology, it is somewhat presumptious to state that “technology” is the culprit for their mental innanity. Because of newly developed technology, people may not be using the same set of skills as in the history, but they are developing a new group of “thinking abilities”. I believe this is no more of a shift than a “deterioration.”