The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops."Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that th

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the success of a business corporation. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect.

To begin with, the argument is based on a survey which doesn't always render an accurate result. The argument states that 88 per cent people have a positive response towards the opening of Hobby shop. Rather, It may happen that survey has been performed for less number of people. However, The argument doesn't provide any evidence of how many people participate in that survey. This survey would be more signified if the actual number of participants is mentioned.

Secondly, the argument states that the majority of the population of Grilldon is a retired person. It has been assumed that as they retire from a job, they have lots of time, though it doesn't make any definite idea about their hobbies. Maybe they have enough time, but that doesn't indicate they use their time for rendering hobby related tasks. Besides, they could leave the city and started to stay on rural which is free from all noises, pollutions, after retirement. So, their current stature of living information should be gleaned for further justification.

Thirdly, the argument states that Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 per cent during the past decade. This argument also leaves many other unanswered questions.First of all, this assumption is based on a survey, which doesn't always produce high accuracy. However, it would be more prudent if the argument provides the exact details of which way they have been surveyed and how many participants they have.

Finally, the argument claims without any warrant that southeastern Grilldon and Grilldon are similar. For one, the residence of Grilldon is wealthier, richer than those of southeastern Grilldon.Hence, this could explain the success of Grilldon Hobby Shop.if the argument states the similarity and equality of income level of both two places, this would strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, as the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to support the recommendation mentioned in the argument