The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50

The author's assumption is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on an unwarranted assumption that the Balmer island and the Torseau island are the same, rendering its main conclusion that the Balmer island will follow the success of Torseau island.

To begin with, the argument fails to provide any justification regarding the similarities between the two islands. There may be a chance of variations of the number of people living in both islands. Besides, there is no indication of the area of the two islands. The discrepancy between the two islands never leads to the same results. If the author mentions the exact number of people, the exact area in both the islands then it would be enough to draw the conclusion easily.

Secondly, the author states that the reduction of cost regarding renting of moped and bicycle would diminish the accident rate between moped and pedestrians. Actually, Accident depends upon various factors. It includes the lackings of traffic knowledge, traffic facilities as well as awareness, skills of a rider. But the author hardly mentions these factors in the passage. Maybe cost reduction will increase the number of riders who previously is not able to rent due to exorbitant rent, but if the rider lacks social awareness and traffic knowledge, then how could it be possible to expect the reduction of the accident?

Thirdly, the author initially made a statement that the population of Balmer island increases at such a rate that it doubles in its previous year."Being population doubled", is completely a vague notation if you have not any idea of its initial population. To illustrate this, suppose in the previous year the population of Balmer island is 10 if it doubles it would be 20. This does not necessarily represent a large number, hence cost reduction may hamper the business. on the contrary, in Torseau island, there may be as long as 2000 people. Hence, cost reduction is Torseau hardly affects the business, rather it would help to enhance the business as a large density of people started to rent.

Finally, The author compares a year with a specific season(Summer). The author claims without any warrant that what held true previous year will hold true today. However, it does not provide any evidence that nothing has been changed significantly.

In conclusion, as the author makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the Balmer island will mirror the success of the Torseau island.