"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago,

The author of the passage concludes that it is better to deal with Apian Highways for paving all the access roads of new shopping malls. This conclusion is flawed for numerous reasons. This argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition than the route 101 which has been constructed by Intention roadways. However, scrutiny of all possible evidence reveals that it provides little credible support towards the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author readily assumes that the two roads are the same which is nothing but a mere assumption without any solid evidence. For, example environmental conditions may not be the same for two roads. We know environmental factors like a flood, drought has a significant effect on the longevity of roads and highways. Besides, the author does not provide traffic information regarding the two roads. It may happen that road 101, had to undergo a huge amount of traffic in which drastically leads to the damage the road in a modicum amount of time. Therefore, the argument would have been more convincing if the author explicitly states that two roads have the same environment and traffic.

Next, the author claims that the apian highway recently purchased new machines, which will enhance the quality of the work. this is an unwarranted and unsupported claim that it does not demonstrate any clear and concrete correlation between Quality work and the Machine. To illustrate further, Intention Roadway can buy the same machine and if this happens, is it viable to choose intention Roadway? However, If the argument had provided evidence that shows the specifications and compares the machines then it would have been more convincing.

Finally, the author notes that the Apian highway has appointed a new control manager. The survey of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support towards authors opinions in several critical aspects, but raises some sceptical questions. How can we justify the quality of a work by its control manager? The quality of a work depends on numerous factors like workers ability, proper planning, proper materials etc. Moreover, the author does not provide any necessary information regarding new managers previous backdrop, working experience, efficiency etc. hence, these pieces of information strengthen the author's conclusion.

To recapitulate, the author's assumption is completely flawed. To accord with authors opinions, the author should provide more concrete and cogent evidence like the environmental and traffic similarities of the two roads, demonstrate the correlation between machine and work quality.