Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is treated as one of the vital factors for the long term development of society as well as a nation. Since the dawn of civilization, people have given tremendous value to education as it provides a platform for students to enlighten themselves with knowledge. University, the most prestigious institution in the education system, plays a significant role to improve the education system and the cultivation of skillful peers for the welfare of society. Personally, I believe that university professors should deserve a high salary. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, money is really a strong motivation to keep professors concentrated on their tasks like teaching and researching. In this modern and materialistic world, everyone has to struggle to live their life smoothly and perfectly, either it could be a teacher, engineer, doctor and so on. Compared to the past, nowadays professors have paid a scant amount of salary in comparison to their effort. As a result, some of them started to concentrate on other business like software firm, a manufacturing company to earn more money. However, when they are paid well enough they solely use their mind to teaching and research related activities. For example, my university spends a very small amount of their expenditure regarding the payment of teachers and therefore, many professors started to run business to make more money. I have taken a course, titled Algorithm analysis and design, this course was conducted by a professor who was always busy with his software firm. We barely found him on the campus. He usually visited university twice in a week to conduct our class and thereafter went away. As a result, in some cases, we needed to study on our own as he didn't enough time to offering advising as well as tutoring.

Moreover, offering handsome salary attracts other prominent professors to join that university. We know in the job market the best company can recruit the most prominent employees is the one who offers the highest paycheck. Similarly, if a university wants to motivate renowned employees, they have to provide free accommodation, free transport facilities, flexible working hours and of course the most attractive and visible one-high salaries. When a lot of eminent teachers join the university, it will definitely be a beneficial situation considering student admission, high-quality education. For instance, it is said that Purdue University offers its Ph.D. graduates up to a 35k dollar and it is the reason why many graduates would like to choose Purdue to pursue a further degree and even become a professor in the future. All these can lay a strong foundation for the development of Purdue, making it one of the perfect as well as a model university in all fields.

To recapitulate, I strongly believe that it is urgent for a university to pay its faculties a perfect amount. This is because it encourages them to carry on their primary purposes on university without interruption.