The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The homeowner listed some statistical evidences to compare Adams Realty and Fitch Realty that lead him to recommend the former to his friend. Although it seems convincing with these data, the homeowner's argument is based on a few assumptions whose validity still needs further inspection.

The first comparison the homeowner made is two companies' number of real estate agents, and assumed that the more agents the company has, the better the company will be. However, although the number of agents may be a criteria we can look into, we also need to evaluate their performance. Even though Adams has 40 real estate agents, they may be less responsible than 25 agents working for Fitch. The homeowner also pointed out that Fich uses my part-time workers, however, it is unclear how many of those 40 agents who are working for Adams are full-time agents. What's more, part-time agents may be more motivated to work efficiently and hard simply because they have a stronger incentive to do so. On the contrary, full-time workers may not be hard workers as their part-time co-workers due to their "guaranteed" compensation and benefits. As a result of its hard-working 25 agents, Fitch may earn a higher satisfactory rating among customers which probably can bring these agents a higher referral rate and more resources.

Building upon the implication of the comparison on the average sales of the two companies, the homeowner assumed a higher average sale is equivalent to a better sales performance. In this assumption, he entirely ignored the influence of the house' value on the price. Houses sold through Adams may be on average larger, may have more acres, may be better maintained, and these all may lead to a higher average sale for the company. However, for Fitch, the case could be that the 25 agents simply sold cheaper houses in value, but made a higher profit from these sales. Therefore, the homeowner also needs to examine the original homes' value.

The homeowner also compared the length of his two houses being on the market through the two real estate agency. It took Adams a shorter time to sell his house than Fitch, therefore, he claimed Adams is faster. However, the homeowner simply forgot about a few variants that may have an impact on this matter. It could be the demand for housing was high when the owner was selling it through Adams, while the market was shrinking when he was selling through Fitch. It could also be that the house he sold through Adams was better in quality and had a higher value than the house he sold through Fitch. The differences in the houses' qualities and values can affect their popularity among buyers, and consequently, these will influence the length of the on-market duration.

As a result, even though the owner has provided a few valuable statistical information to help his friend decide which real estate agency to choose, it is very hard say that Adams is definitely a better choice than Fitch before they can check the validity of these assumptions discussed above.