Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is base

Government funding is a very valuable resource to promote a nation’s economic, intelligent, and cultural growth. As centers of a country, major cities play important roles in terms of the country’s prosperity. I agree that it is necessary but not sufficient to ensure these cities to receive finncial aid needed from the government, however, not because it preserves a nation’s cultural trations.

To begin with, fiancial support to major cities is indeed fundamental to a growth of a nation. However, the reason does not lie in its role to preserve culture. On the contrary, I think traditional culture tends to lose its sites in big cities because of the fast-changing life there. For instance, it is at China’s big cities where changes happens first. With influence of modernization, many archeatectures and traditional cultural elements have disappeared in the streets of Beijing and Shang Hai. However, this doesn’t imply that cities should not receive any funding from the government. In general, major cities are the economic and cultural centers of a certain country such as China’s cosmopolitan Beijing and Shang Hai. Money received from the government can be used to promote these cities’ infrustruacture, education, medical care, environment,cultural activities, and etc. For instance, Beijing and Shang Hai have received a substantial amount of finacial support from the central government, and as a result, these two cities’ have been constructiong more efficient transportation systems, improving medical conditions, and improving the air quality, which in return has continuously help these two cities prosper and stimulate the growth of their adjcent areas. However, I

However, allocating these financial resources is not sufficient to make sure a country will thrive. Afterall, these major cities are only a very small proportion of the country, and it is vital to find a balance between the cities and the rural areas. We simply cannot ignore the rural areas where usually are underdeveloped and financial help are urgently need. Take China’s rural area as an example, there are still many children who are not able to receive proper education simply due to the poverty or due to the difficulty of traveling to schools. If government funding can be put into these sectors, I believe it will help bridge the gigantic gap between the lives of cities and rural areas and hopefully to reach a balance in the future. What is more, cities usually generats more revenue than rural areas where resources are already very limited. Therefore, these rural areas needs more attention and supports to advance.

In conclusion, because of major cities unique contribution to a country’s advancedment in different aspects, it is very beneficial for them to receive extra funding from the government. While that is conducive, we cannot ignore the less developed rural areas where aide is more necessary, and we need to endeavor to reduce the difference beween the cities and the poor areas.