The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director proposed to build more domitories based on the fact that the enrollment of the college is growing drastically, that the affordability of the apartments is low, and that new dorms will attract more potential students. These arguments sound plausible at first glance; however, with a deeper investigation, they are rife with holes and flaws.

First of all, the director assumed the increase in enrollment will lead into a larger demand for dorm buildings. However, before this connection can be established, the college needs to collect data on how many available school dorms there are and how many students will graduate in the coming years. If there are many students who are living in the dorm will graduate, there will be many newly availble dorms on campus. Before building new buildings, it will be wise to consider whether these newly available dorms will serve the capacity of the growing enrollment. Plus, how will the school be able to predict all the potential students are planning to live in the dorms? How many of these incoming students are from local areas and will be living with their family? How many of these students from other areas will rent apartments off campus? These data will help the school to find out the necessity of building new building.

Secondly, the director argued that the average rent is considerably high and these off-campus apartments are expensive for students to afford. Here, the director assumed that these apartments are all for students and that students will rent them without any roommates. What if the appartments that are in areas that are farther away from the school is more expensive? What if the student-targeted apartments have considerably reasonable prices? What is more, the sizes of these apartments are unclear. If most of these apartments are large, will students be able to share the rent with fellow students, in which case will lower their housing expenses and potentially affordable for students?

Last but not the least, the director assumed that newer school dorms will attract more students to enroll in the school. However, there are many factors in play in terms of whether students decide to study in Buckingham College, such as teaching resources, tuition rates, and funding opportunities, and ect. It is presumptuous to believe that new dorms will increase the likelyhood of higher enrollment. What’s more, will these new dorms keep the same rent or raise the price? If these new dorms cost more for students, and will this make student hesitate to stay in them?

In conclusion, constructiong new dorming buildings appear to be a good idea for the students as well as the shool’s enrollment. However, many more factors need to be considered and many questions need to be answered to make this proposal valid.