The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that in order to diminish patient infections, UltraClean should be supplied at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital system. To bolster the argument, the author points out that 40 percent greater bacteria population can be reduced by the concentrated solution of UltraClean than the soaps currently used in the hospitals. Also, there were fewer cases of patient infection reported in hospital equipped with UltraClean than did other hospitals. However, with a detailed analysis, the readers could still identify some logical fallacies that might seriously undermine the original chain of reasoning in the statement.

To begin with, the author mentions a concentrated solution of UltraClean can bring about a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than the liquid hand soaps currently used in the hospitals. However, the unstated assumption is that what doctors use to wash hands is the concentrated hand soap. But the concentrated one may be hazardous for our skin and the UltraClean without concentration may not reduce the same amount of bacteria as the concentrated one. Another assumption in the sentence is that all the bacteria reduced by the hand soap are harmful for people’s health. But it is possible that what UltraClean eliminates are bacteria which are neutral or even beneficial to human body. Therefore, the author needs additional evidence to clarify the specific category of bacteria the soap can reduce. Otherwise, it is not convincing enough to conclude that UltraClean is a more advanced hand soap compared to its counterparts.

In addition, the author quotes a test revealing that hospital in Workby which had been equipped with UltraClean reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in their group. The unstated assumption is that the equipment of UltraClean is the cause of the fewer cases of patient infection. But there are other possible reasons for the phenomenon. It is possible that the hospital in Workby is a hospital mainly curing cardiovascular diseases, diseases which are impossible to infect other people. Cases of patient infection, therefore, is natural to be fewer than other hospitals which mainly treat infectious diseases like tuberculosis and HIV. Or it is likely that the hospital in Workby pay more attention on the overall environment in the hospital like much cleaner medical facilities than other hospitals. Thus, without additional information of the exact reason of the fewer cases of patient infection in the hospital of Workby, it is difficult to access the merit of this statement.

Even if the reason of the fewer cases of infection is the supply of UltraClean, the argument that supplying UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital systemis can prevent patient infection is unwarranted. The author does not consider that great differences may exist between the hospital in Workby and other hospitals in the system and such differences would weaken the analogy of the two. Chances are that diseases like flu, SARS and coronavirus spread not by touching but by the tiny airborne droplets in the air. Thus, it is useless for people to wash hands in hospital where there are patients of those diseases. In conclusion, in order to better bolster the recommendation, more detailed information involving the similarities between the hospital in Workby and all the other hospitals are needed.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it relies on several unjustified assumptions. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.