Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

The author contends that university students should take a variety of courses outside the students' field of study. Admittedly, it may cost time and effort, yet learning different fields can broaden students’ horizon and cultivate their critical thinking.

Taking courses outside students' field of study may bring pressures for them. Nowadays students who try their best to climb the social ladder are under too much pressures, and taking more courses is too demanding for them. Take my college as an example. Students in my college have to spend more than 8 hours a day to take courses and do homework. Thus, it will be too exacting to let students who are already stressful take additional courses.

However, taking courses like literature and film can help them deal with pressures and cultivate aesthetic value. Through reading masterpieces like the Outsider and the Moon and Six Pences, students can feel sympathy. In such a world where people ignore people's inner feelings but chase for reason and sense, students have to cultivate their sensibility and sympathy towards marginalized people and the fate of human being. For example, students may feel sympathetic towards the protagonist of the novel the Outsider for his innocence and have deeper understanding about the selfishness and arrogance of human nature. Moreover, watching brilliant films directed by top tier directors from the French New Wave like Breathless and the 500 Blows, students can be fully overwhelmed by the passion expressed by the film. Surrounded by strangers and seating in the total darkness, they forget who they are and what they are doing, but throw themselves into the fantasy of film. In doing so, the troubles they confront seem trivial.

In addition, taking courses in the field of social science can cultivate students' critical thinking. By learning theories developed by Marshell Mcluhan, for example, students can know more about new media, which has already dominated people's life for more than 20 years. Rather than praising the convenience those technologies have brought to us, they can be more sensitive about surveillance from the government achieved by cookies and facial recoganition, as well as the negative influence of algorithm. Students can gain the ability to think independently and raise questions to established social norm by learning more reasonable theories developed by erudite scholars in courses of social science.

In a nutshell, by taking additional courses like literature, cinema and social science, students can learn more things about the surrounding world, and have critical thinking.