Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people insist that a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens, and others assert that the well-being of the society can only be measured by the general welfare of its people. Admittedly, the overall success of society is important for a country’s development. Yet, the general welfare of every netizens are more crucial for a county’s future success.

Achieving overall success can help a country to develop its economy in faster paces. Take China as an example. To boost its economy, China has implemented a variety of tools of propaganda like mainstream movies and advertisements to mobilize its netizens to work together to promote the economic development. Although Chinese citizens are deprived of fundamental rights from the freedom of speech to the voting right, most Chinese are proud of their country and endeavor to contribute to the faster development of Chinese economy and larger volume of total GDP.

However, in order to go after the overall success of a nation, individual rights might be harmed. China is also a good example. Chinese government has issued a strong condemnation of protesters who stormed and vandalised the Hong Kong’s legislature, calling Hong Kong protest happened in June “totally intolerable”. This protest was to oppose the extradition bill, which permits arrangements for mutual legal assistance to be made between Hong Kong and any place outside Hong Kong. Hong Kong citizens are aware of the independent judiciary system being damaged. But mainland China claimed that this bill can further reduce officials’ corruption and boost the economy. With foreign mainstream newspapers like the Guardian and the New York Times being blocked in mainland China, the authoritarian country led by the Communist party ignore its citizens’ basic rights like the freedom of speech and the right to peaceably assemble.

When individual welfare of a country’s people is guaranteed, the country is more likely to develop quickly in long run. Take Sweden as an example. The country is known for gender equality, and the employment rate of women is one of the highest in the world according to the Pew Research Center. Thanks to the equality movement in Sweden, women in Sweden have more opportunities to go into elite college and step into workforce to create higher GDP for the country. Moreover, many women entrepreneurs prefer to start up business in Sweden because of the inclusive environment, which contribute a large amount of economic income for the country.

In a nutshell, overall success can only be beneficial for a country’s economy in short term, and the general welfare of citizens can bring economic benefits for an economy in longer term.